About UsOur WorkCommunity PartnersCampaignMedia
Live United

Lubbock Area United Way - Our Work


Our Work

Since 1946, Lubbock Area United Way has raised more than $152 million dollars to change lives and advance the common good. 

However, Lubbock Area United Way is more than a fundraising vehicle.  We work with 23 Community Partners to address needs and remove barriers. 

Through the research we do in our Community Status Report, we know that the lack of education leads to a variety of issues that are interconnected.  We have developed the Education Matters Initiative to address the root causes of these issues and empower individuals and families to take charge of the quality of their lives.

We also have committees of community volunteers who review the progrms we fund each year to ensure their continued success and effectiveness. If you are interested in serving on a Community Impact committee, please contact Janis Putteet at jputteet@unitedway-lubbock.org or (806) 747-2711.

2015 Community Impact Leadership Team

Community Impact
Chair: Eddie Owens, Wayland Baptist University
Vice Chair: Judy Parker, County Court at Law #3

Agency Review
Chair: Tony Peña, FirstCapital Bank of Texas
Vice Chair: Bill Howerton, City of Lubbock

Program Review
Chair: Jeff Klotzman, Fox 34/Ramar Communications
Vice Chair: Rebecca Ramirez, TTU Health Sciences Center

Stewardship Review
Chair: Bryce Bowley, Robinson Burdette Martin Seright
Vice Chair: Cheryl Brown, FirstBank & Trust

2015 Stewardship Review Committee

Lauren Acker, Gage Van Horn & Associates
Daphne Brannon, PlainsCapital Bank
Audrey DeLeon, Lubbock Chamber of Commerce
Celeste Glover, Lone Star State Bank
Tyler Haynes, PlainsCapital Bank
Stephanie Hazuka, Barricades Unlimited
Chad Hill, PlainsCapital Bank
Monique Love, American Bank of Commerce
Jake Mahan, Peoples Bank

Amy Marquez, Lubbock Chamber of Commerce
Zoe Metcalf, Texas Tech Health Sciences Center
Chuck Parr, American National Bank
Allyn Piland, PrimeWest Mortgage
Kaleb Rendon, Robinson Burdette Martin & Seright
Clay Robinett, Gage Van Horn & Associates
Caleb Shafer, Commercial State Bank
Janie Stephens, SouthWest Bank

2015 Program Review Committee

Geni Arndt, Happy State Bank
Bud Arnett, West Texas Independent Financial Services
Cristina Ash, South Plains Association of Governments
Keith Barbour, American Bank of Commerce
Joe Brown, Joe Brown Insurance
Sherolyn Castleman, Lone Star State Bank
Stephanie Cole, Wells Fargo Bank
Bill Curnow, Plains Cotton Co-Op
Kelly Davila, South Plains Association of Governments
Aaron Davis, University Medical Center
Audrey DeLeon, Lubbock Chamber of Commerce
Debbie Earl, Greenstreet
Crystal Edwards, Westmark Commercial
Nick Futrell, Texas Mutual Insurance Company
Robert Giddens, Texas Mutual Insurance Company
Colton Glasscock, FirstBank & Trust
Jeff Greenhill, First United Bank
Kristin Hagins, Lubbock Christian School
Debby Hansard, Office of Robert Duncan
Lauren Hays, Betenbough Homes
Marinda Heinrich, Atmos Energy
Travis Hillman, FirstCapital Bank of Texas
Becky Householder, Coldwell Banker Rick Canup Realtors
Amy Huff, Texas Tech University
Michelle Hunter, Texas Tech Health Sciences Center
Patricia Johnston
Nikki Kantelis, Texas Tech University
Dana Kerr, Benchmark
Jeff Klotzman, Fox34/Ramar Communications
Tony Lloyd, RE/MAX Lubbock Realtors
Cameron Lust, American Bank of Commerce
Julie Mandrell, PlainsCapital Bank

Aida Martinez, South Plains Association of Governments
Bill McCay, Lubbock County
Jordan McKay, Peoples Bank
Eric McKnight
Corey Moore, Hockley County FSA
Garrett Morgan, Lowell and Company
Grace Myers, Goulds Water Technology
Bradley Nelson, Betenbough Homes
Raquel Padilla, City of Lubbock
Chuck Parr, American National Bank
Esther Pena, Amerigroup
Allyn Piland, PrimeWest Mortgage
Darcy Pollock, Texas Tech Health Sciences Center
Vanessa Pope, Lubbock National Bank
Kenna Pruitt, South Plains Community Action Association
Dr. Gonzalo Ramirez, Lubbock Christian University
Rebecca Ramirez, Texas Tech Health Sciences Center
Jerod Reep, American National Bank
Kathryn Reeves
Crystal Reich, X-Fab
Joe Rose
Katie Salter, Evensky & Katz Wealth Management
Lynn Sanderson, Wells Fargo Bank
Caleb Shafer, Prosperity Bank
Barbie Sisson, Alderson Cadillac
Colleen Sizemore, ARMtech
Matt Stephens, Prosperity Bank
Ken Stout, Covenant Health System
Tami Swoboda, Lubbock Area Foundation
Peter Warrick, Atmos Energy
Lynette Wilson, ARMtech

Vernita Woods-Holmes, Education Service Center, Region XVII